Going for it.

I’m thinking of running Beaver/Elk lake tomorrow morning.  It’s a 10k route, apparently quite a nice run, and common for the local runners.  I’ve never done it.  I walked it once, about 7 years ago, with some friends.  I seem to recall it took us an awfully long time.

When people find out I run it seems to be a common question “oh, do you ever run around the lakes?”  But until recently, 10k was like a marathon to me.  Something I endeavored to finish.  Something I trained for, to survive all 10k, and get to the end still standing.  So no, I didn’t “go run around the lakes” for fun or training, because a 10k route was the end goal.  Now though, my long runs approach 10k regularly, and I know I could do it.  There’s little danger of getting halfway around and being too fatigued to run the rest of the way.  I think it will actually be, dare I say it, FUN.

So weather willing, if I’m up early enough to be out and back without offsetting my family’s day too much, I’m hoping to run the lakes tomorrow.  Wish me luck.

Posted on May 21, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hope it went well Wendy. Elk Lake is a beautiful spot to run!

Leave a Reply

