Running Playlists

I’ve been thinking about a playlist for my upcoming 10k race on May 1st (tc10k.ca). I’ve tried for upbeat music when I run, not exactly to pace, but just for encouragement and that wee bit of distraction to keep my mind of fatigue and discomfort. I change it up a lot to prevent boredom, but it’s overall pretty random what I’ll listen to on a given day. I’ve enjoyed 101 Running Songs which is a 5 CD set, ripped to my MP3 player.

Lately I’m finding the pace of the music counter productive to trying to pace myself on runs, though. I feel like I’m drawn to run at the BMP of the music. That’s a good thing if the pace is right (or a teeny bit fast) but not if it’s too slow. And I’m not sure what my pace is in terms of BPM, so it’s hard to know what to do with my music now. I’ve been turning the volume down a little so it’s more background and that’s helping. I’m not ready to run without music, though.

What do you have on your running playlist? I’m heavily influenced by Top-40, and that shows in my lists. Let me know what you listen to, I’d love some new ideas

5k Race Playlist

  1. Adele – Rolling in the Deep
  2. Taiyo Cruz – Break Your Heart
  3. Bruno Mars – Grenade
  4. Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now
  5. Dragonette – Hello
  6. Eminem – Not Afraid
  7. These Kids Wear Crowns – Jumpstart
  8. Marina and The Diamonds – Oh No!
  9. Sunloverz – Fire

Newer Training list – about an hour long:

  • RIo – after the love
  • Alyssa Reid – Alone Again
  • Christina Aguilera – Not Myself Tonight
  • Flock of Seagulls – I Ran
  • These Kids Wear Crowns – Jumpstart
  • Kesha – Take it Off
  • 3 Doors Down – Kryptonite
  • Tony Arzandon – Let it Rock
  • Eminem – Lose Yourself
  • Billy Idol – Rebel Yell
  • Rhianna – Disturbia
  • Tom Petty – Running Down a Dream
  • Rihanna – S and M
  • Kesha – We R Who We R
  • White Stripes – 7 Nation Army
  • Written in the Stars
Posted on April 21, 2011, in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I love Usher’s new song “More” – even though I tend to run without music, I still had it in my head when I was on the trail the other week. Hadn’t heard “Jumpstart” before; thanks for that tip.

  2. I’ve been meaning to try some actual songs as opposed to the podcasts as we talked about some time back. Looks like a good place to start. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

